Posted by: marykfurness | November 1, 2011

30 days of indie travel–BootsnAll

I’ve signed up to participate in a marvelous 30 days of travel blogging about independent travel through bootsnall.com.  We get a prompt each day through the month of November and can do with it what we will.  Today’s is about our travel goals of the past year–what were they? Did we achieve them?  What are they for next year?

I am about to achieve this year’s–a little over a year ago, I was sitting in a coffee shop with two friends, when out of the proverbial clear blue sky, one says, “so, who wants to go to Costa Rica?” My involuntary “me, me!” right hand shot into the air, and practically before I knew it, I was signed up for a whirlwind, 9-day, study abroad trip to Costa Rica that leaves the day after Christmas.  While it’s not exactly “indie” travel, I am going overseas without family (a first for me), I will study conservation and biology (also a first, as I am a journalist by trade, not a scientist), and I will go to an area of the world I have never seen before.  Am I thrilled? Absolutely.  A tad apprehensive? Sure.

Another travel goal achieved this year was domestic–to take our son to see the cherry blossoms in Washington, DC.  I grew up there, and hadn’t been home for the Cherry Blossom Festival since college.  It coincided with his spring break, and as I still have family there, we packed our bags (carry-on only, thank you!) and headed East from our home in Missouri. We are blessed with a teen who loves to travel, packs light, and is ready for anything.  While the weather was not overly cooperative, the blossoms certainly were, and we were welcomed by family and friends.

This year has also brought travel to Missouri historic sites for reenactments of Civil War battles, and for living history events, due to my husband’s work. Seasoned road warriors that we are, it is as much fun to discover the lonesome beauty along the back roads, as it is to participate in the events themselves.

 

What will 2012 bring?  That has been the topic of many a conversation around the dinner table.  Foreign? Domestic? Europe? A national park? By train, plane, or car?  We’ll let you know…..

Responses

  1. Hi Mary,
    Aren’t those impulses to shoot your hand up the best kind! Costa Rica would be incredible I imagine.

    I am also taking part in the 30 days of Indie project and am planning to link up to other people taking part (at the end of each post) so that my readers can see what a diverse bunch we really are.

    So what do you think, let me know either way….
    ciao for now
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

Categories

