Posted by: marykfurness | November 7, 2011

The Fear Factor—Day 6 of 30 Days of Travel Blogging

It’s day 6 of my 30 days of travel blogging with bootsnall, and we’re talking about fear–coming face-to-face with it, overcoming it, all in the context of travel.

Well.  I have no fear of getting on a plane–done that.  I have no fear of going places where I have to: a) use a squat toilet (Egypt), b)drink bottled water only (Egypt), or c)try and decipher a language in an alphabet unknown to me(Egypt, Greece, and Bulgaria)–done all that. 

I guess my fears are of things that might either embarrass me greatly in another country (or domestically, in another region of the US), or might honestly cause me bodily harm.  Not saying the right thing to someone in a foreign language, or using an incorrect gesture, is something I worry about.  Being half-Bulgarian, I talk with my hands a lot, and have to remember to be careful about that, and to be careful about personal space.  I also tend to be a bit loud (yes, my broadcasting friends, I see you nodding your collective heads), and have to remember my “indoor” voice, even when outdoors overseas. 

Driving on the left in the UK?  Um, no thanks.  I will drive anywhere else, any time, but the idea of driving (to me) on the “wrong” side of the road bothers me greatly!  (Thank you to my English and Aussie friends, you may stop snickering now) But put me on that bus or train or ferry boat, and I am just fine!

And forget scuba diving and caving…I am, sadly, claustrophic.  I will sail, try surfing, swim in the ocean, but anything that requires covering my face and weighing me down to spend time under the water terrifies me.  I can do show caves/tour caves (think Carlsbad or Mammoth Cave) but anything requiring me to squeeze through teeny spaces, and I start to hyperventilate.

Will I let any of this keep me from travelling? HA! Are you kidding?  There are  ways to get around and over these barely-there-obstacles, and many other joys to be found at home and overseas.  To paraphrase my dear old Scottish ancestors, don’t let the “ghoulies and ghosties, and long-leggedy beasties, and things that go bump in the night” keep you from exploring our wonderful world!

Leave a Reply

Categories

