Posted by: marykfurness | November 8, 2011

Celebrate, celebrate, dance to the music!—Day 7, 30 days of travel blogging

Three Dog Night “Celebrate”

I don’t know how it happens.  Really, I don’t.  Personal magnetism?  Sheer coincidence? But I seem to travel with people who find celebration and adventure around nearly every corner.   

My parents had the most propensity for that.  Everywhere they went, something always happened–we once found ourselves in the midst of a wedding celebration in the small Bulgarian town of Tergovishta as we stopped there for lunch in 1973.  Dad and I landed smack-dab in the midst of the downfall of Communism in Bulgaria in 1989, shouting for freedom and celebrating with thousands of other Bulgarians in the streets.  They bequeathed that “right place, right time” gift to me; often, I have found myself planning trips, then realizing they coincide with festivals or holidays.

In 2008, my husband, son and I anticipated a trip to visit a friend in Canada I hadn’t seen in many years.  We would be out of the States over the 4th of July, but in Canada for Canada Day (July 1st).  What did that mean up there?  A bit of what it means here–picnics and fireworks.  We stayed in Toronto, but took a ferry across the harbor to Centre Island for a day of food and fun, ending in one of the most awe-inspiring fireworks displays I have ever seen.

A year later, we took our dream trip to Europe–3-and-a-half weeks in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland.  Again, a case of right-place-right-time…

The Salzburg Music Festival.

Now, I can hear some of you….so?  How terribly “Sound of Music” of you!  But you must understand–my father had been a concert violinist and vocalist; my mother played piano and tutored piano students; my husband’s father had been a jazz performer and band director; my husband is a musician (not his day job, however)and a student of historic music; my brother plays keyboards; our son plays several instruments; and I sing!!  This was like finding out we won the lottery!!  Every day we were in Salzburg and wandered the streets, it was as though we had tickets to multiple concerts–a string trio tucked away here, a balalaika there…

an accordion player in a garden; and the requisite notes of Mozart everywhere–all for free!

I head off to Costa Rica in 7 weeks, as a group leader on a collegiate study tour, and we will be there over New Year’s–I wonder exactly how the Costa Ricans ring in the New Year? Hmmm…..

So be very careful, those who choose to travel with me, for adventure and celebration are perched upon my shoulder–peek around that corner before stepping out; there might be a parade coming!

Leave a Reply

Categories

