Posted by: marykfurness | June 1, 2013

All My Bags Are Packed……

Everyone travels differently.  Some prefer driving, some love the train, and some can’t get enough of the energy of an airport.  I love them all. I do!  I get an adrenaline rush from the planning, the lists, the search for a great place to stay, then packing my bags, locking the door, and getting on the road in or on whatever mode of transportation meets my need.

Whether it’s loading the car for a trip to our fair state’s parks or historic sites; a lengthy drive across the country to visit family and friends; or heading off to the airport, my blood fairly sings in my veins–I’m off on some kind of adventure!  Those of you who know me, know the truth of that statement…adventure seems to follow me and mine wherever we go.

This trip will be no different….three weeks in the United Kingdom.  London and its environs; a walk along parts of the old Roman wall; and nearly a week in Edinburgh, exploring that fine city and taking day trips out to castles and battlefields. We will fly of course, then take trains, busses, a friend will drive us several places, we will walk….explorations galore!  We have rented apartments, and have a bed and breakfast stay planned….sinking into local life as much as possible, and travelling as lightly as possible.

Some are fortunate–they can make reservations quickly, get the time off work, pack in a flash, and be off!  For the three of us, this trip has been years in the making, months in the planning, and now….lift-off!! We are ready to go.

Leave a Reply

Categories

